Welcome to the UCT Australian Trust

giving@uct web

The University of Cape Town Australian Trust, ABN 16316957875, is a charitable foundation established by alumni and supporters of the UCT, residing in Australia, to provide financial support to a range of development and social justice programs managed by the UCT. Projects selected by the Australian Trust focus on education, health and human rights, and aim to assist disadvantaged South African communities to rise above poverty.

UCT alumni chapters will be established initially in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth and Adelaide. In time we hope to establish chapters in other states, territories and regional centres.

Lenore Plummer has been appointed as Chief Executive Officer of the Trust, and Ruth Thornton has been appointed Alumni Manager, to facilitate networking and events for Australian alumni and supporters.

The University of Cape Town Australian Trust is an Australian charity established to heighten the profile of the UCT ‘s development projects, and encourage alumni to give back to their nation of origin. It is endorsed with tax deductible status.

Mission Statement

The trust  is a charitable foundation formed to support a number of UCT’ social justice programs including the  the Schools Development Unit (Education), Education Development Unit (Commerce), the Drug Discovery Unit (Chemistry),the Peri-Natal Mental Health Unit  Health Sciences).

The Trust also supports financially disadvantaged South African students to attend UCT, including assistance to live on campus. It aims to empower bright and talented youth to rise above poverty to earn a degree. All projects aim to assist disadvantaged communities, and South Africa as a whole, in pursuit of the nation’s social and educational goals

Cape Town Foundation Pty Ltd

is the trustee of the UCT Australian Trust. Directors of the company are UCT alumni with a commitment to the management and promotion of the trust.

Current directors are Wayne Spanner (chairman), Arnold Conyer, Malcolm Dunn, Robert Estcourt, Anne Sarzin and Jonathan Trollip, Barbara Galloon.

Lenore Plummer is Company Secretary.